USDA designates three counties in Rhode Island as a Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA LogoIn a press releases issued September 8, 2016, The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated Providence, Bristol and Kent counties in Rhode Island as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by a recent drought. Farmers and ranchers in these counties qualify for natural disaster assistance.

“Our hearts go out to those Rhode Island farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Rhode Island producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

Read more here.